Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Swing

Swing
Released: 1978
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 491-9
Order Now: www.amazon.de

In October 1977 Bert Kaempfert fulfilled a long-cherished wish and recorded a complete album with 12 titles taken from the repertoire of the most famous swing bands. He breathed new life into these old favorites without detracting from their typical and highly unique original sound.

Renowned soloists, all of whom were regular members of his orchestra as of the 1970s, performed the solos in this production: Ack van Rooyen (trumpet and cornet), Herb Geller (flute and alto saxophone), Ferdinand Powel (tenor saxophone), James Towsey (baritone saxophone) and Jiggs Whigham (trombone).

Although Bert Kaempfert preserves the original tempo in his arrangement of Woody Herman’s Woodchopper’s Ball (original recording: 12 April 1939), his personal stroke of the pen is discernible in every other respect. Herman’s clarinet solo is played here by Ack van Rooyen. Trombone, baritone sax and further trumpet solos follow before the well-known riffs are heard to conclude the piece.

Glenn Miller’s version of the American children’s song Little Brown Jug (original recording: 10 April 1939) was a great hit. In his arrangement, Kaempfert allots the main theme to Herb Geller’s flute, thus lending the work a charmingly carefree character.

Count Basie’s One O’Clock Jump (original recording: 7 July 1937) sold millions; hard on its heels followed Harry James’s Two O’Clock Jump (original recording: 6 March 1939). The two works enjoy a similar structure. Conversation passes back and forth between the tenor sax, muted trumpet and trom-bone, while the continual build-up of the final choruses enhances the quality of this number.

Lullaby Of Birdland was originally conceived as a quintet (original recording: 17 July 1952 by the George Shearing Quintet). In Kaempfert’s masterly big band arrangement, none of the original atmosphere is lost: he merely replaces Shearing’s typical combination of piano, vibraphone and guitar with that of flutes and vibraphone, thus imparting an even lighter touch to the piece.

With the composition of the swing standard Air Mail Special (original recording: 13 March 1941 by the Benny Goodman Sextet), whose fame was partly due to the scat singing of Ella Fitzgerald, one is already aware of the bebop era yet to come – and it goes without saying that this was apparent in Kaempfert’s arrangement.

Woody Herman, the “wild man” of the big band era, made his most remarkable recording, Apple Honey (original recording: 19 February 1945), at the zenith of his creative period. In his arrangement, Bert Kaempfert dispenses with the aggressiveness of the original recording and incorporates several relaxed and loosely connected solo passages.

It was Stan Kenton who brought about the break with the tradition of swing and ushered in the era of orchestral jazz. Those who never really felt comfortable with Kenton’s recording of Intermission Riff (original recording: July 1946) will very probably enjoy Bert Kaempfert’s milder version.

Jumpin’ At The Woodside is a further number by Count Basie (original recording: 22 August 1938) which has always been a great favorite with the public thanks to its hypnotic riffs. Kaempfert takes the pace more slowly in his arrangement, while the solo flute, muted trumpet and trombone provide for plenty of variety.

Like numerous other numbers by Tommy Dorsey, Marie also landed in the charts in the early 1940s (original recording: 17 October 1940). Kaempfert takes the tempo somewhat more slowly and gives prominence to the trombone – clearly a tribute to the great trombonist Dorsey and his velvety sound.

In It’s Only A Paper Moon (original recording: December 1943 by the Nat “King” Cole Trio), Bert Kaempfert does not base his arrangement on any one particular version but concerns himself more with the title itself, which was a tremendous hit in the post-war years.

If ever a research poll were carried out to determine the most popular post-war number, Glenn Miller’s recording of In The Mood (original recording: 1 August 1939) would surely come out on top. Realizing that nothing could possibly improve this classic work, Kaempfert arranged the piece in a traditional manner.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Swing

Swing
Released: 1978
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 491-9
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Im Oktober 1977 erfüllte Bert Kaempfert sich einen lang gehegten Wunsch und nahm ein komplettes Album mit 12 Titeln aus dem Repertoire der berühmtesten Swing-Formationen auf. Diesen Swing-Standards hauchte er neues Leben ein, ohne dabei die Attraktivität der Originale aufzugeben, und blieb seinem typischen und unnachahmlichen Sound treu.

Namhafte Solisten, die seit Beginn der siebziger Jahre zur festen Besetzung seines Orchesters gehörten, übernahmen auch bei dieser Produktion die Soli: Ack van Rooyen (Trompete, Flügelhorn), Herb Geller (Flöte, Altsaxophon), Ferdinand Powel (Tenorsaxophon), James Towsey (Baritonsaxophon) und Jiggs Whigham (Posaune).

In seinem Arrangement von Woody Hermans Woodchopper’s Ball (Originalaufnahme vom 12. April 1939) behält Kaempfert das Tempo des Originals bei, alles andere verrät seine eigene Handschrift. Hermans Klarinettensolo wird hier von Ack van Rooyen übernommen. Es folgen Posaunen-, Baritonsax- und weitere Trompetensoli, bevor zum Schluss die bekannten Riffs erklingen.

Glenn Miller landete mit seiner Version des amerikanischen Kinderliedes Little Brown Jug (Originalaufnahme vom 10. April 1939) einen Hit. In seiner Bearbeitung läßt Kaempfert das Hauptthema von Herb Gellers Flöte spielen und verleiht der Nummer so eine angenehme Leichtigkeit.

Auf Count Basies Millionenerfolg One O’Clock Jump (Originalaufnahme vom 7. Juli 1937) folgte Harry James’ Two O’Clock Jump (Originalaufnahme vom 6. März 1939). Der Aufbau dieser beiden Stücke ist recht ähnlich. Tenorsax, gestopfte Trompete und Posaune spielen sich locker die Bälle zu, die stetig aufbauenden Schlusschorusse unterstreichen die Qualität dieser Nummern.

Lullaby Of Birdland war ursprünglich für Quintett geschrieben (Originalaufnahme George-Shearing-Quintett vom 17. Juli 1952). Kaempfert gelingt es, die Nummer in ein Big-Band-Arrangement zu verpacken und dabei die Atmosphäre des Originals zu erhalten; er ersetzt lediglich die für Shearing typische Kombination aus Klavier, Vibraphon und Gitarre durch eine Flöten-Vibraphon-Kombination und gibt dem Stück so einen noch leichteren Touch.

In der Komposition des Swing-Standards Air Mail Special (Originalaufnahme Benny-Goodman-Sextett vom 13. März 1941) – auch berühmt geworden unter anderem durch den Scat-Gesang von Ella Fitzgerald – wirft die Bebop-Ära ihre Schatten voraus, was natürlich auch in Kaempferts Interpretation spürbar wird.

Mit Apple Honey schuf Woody Herman, der „wilde Mann” der Big-Band-Ära, auf dem Höhepunkt seiner kreativsten Phase seine bemerkenswerteste Aufnahme (Originalaufnahme vom 19. Februar 1945). Kaempfert verzichtet jedoch in seinem Arrangement auf die Aggressivität des Originals und baut einige entspannte, locker miteinander verbundene Soloabschnitte ein.
Stan Kenton vollzog den Bruch mit der Swing-Tradition und leitete in die Ära des orchestralen Jazz über. Diejenigen, die Kentons Aufnahme des Intermission Riff (Originalaufnahme Juli 1946) nie so recht mochten, können sich vielleicht mit der entschärften Fassung von Kaempfert anfreunden.

Jumpin’ At The Woodside ist ein weiterer Titel von Count Basie (Originalaufnahme vom 22. August 1938), der sich dank seiner hypnotischen Riffs beim Publikum seit Jahrzehnten großer Beliebtheit erfreut. Kaempfert legt seine Bearbeitung etwas langsamer an; Soloflöte, gestopfte Trompete und Posaune sorgen für genügend Abwechslung.

Wie viele andere Singles von Tommy Dorsey gelangte auch Marie Anfang der vierziger Jahre (Originalaufnahme vom 17. Oktober 1940) in die Charts. Kaempfert nimmt das Tempo ein wenig langsamer und stellt die Posaune in den Vordergrund – sicherlich eine Verbeugung vor Dorsey, dem Mann mit dem samtigen Posaunenton.

Im Falle von It’s Only A Paper Moon (Originalaufnahme vom Nat-„King”-Cole-Trio, Dezember 1943) entwickelt Kaempfert sein Arrangement nicht aus einer speziellen Version; er ist vielmehr an dem Titel an sich interessiert, der in den Nachkriegsjahren ein äußerst populärer Hit war.

Sollte jemals eine Umfrage nach dem beliebtesten Standard der Nachkriegszeit durchgeführt werden, würde Glenn Millers Einspielung von In The Mood (Originalaufnahme vom 1. August 1939) an erster Stelle stehen. Kaempfert hat diesen Titel in traditioneller Weise arrangiert, da es nichts bringt, das Erscheinungsbild dieses Klassikers zu sehr zu verändern.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: