Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

The Polydor Singles Collection 1958/1972

The Polydor Singles Collection 1958/1972
Released: 2000
Format: CD, Box Set
Catalog #: 549 054-2
Order Now: www.amazon.de

As early as the 1950s Bert Kaempfert was Polydor’s arranger and producer. It was at this time that Bert Kaempfert also began to compose: at first he used the pseudonym Marc Bones, but he later changed to using his own name.

All the singles which appeared on the Polydor label in Germany have been compiled and are now being re-released on this double CD for the very first time. Among them are treasures which have never appeared on compact disc before, such as the choral versions of Only A Fool (Would Lose You) and Lonely Is The Name.

For lovers and collectors of this orchestral music, a dream has here come true: early recordings, often made in Hamburg’s Musikhalle if the ensemble was a small one, will conjure up many pleasant memories. Hits of their day such as Mitternachts-Blues, Ducky, Patricia, Catalania, Explorer and Cerveza are all now heard here in their original single version, some of which were released later in a different version on LP. Cha! Bull! and Shepherd’s Cha-Cha are two titles from the LP compilation “Ssh! It’s … Bert Kaempfert” which was released later in England and which are now being re-released here.

CD1 (1958 – 1962):

CD2 (1963 – 1972):

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

The Polydor Singles Collection 1958/1972

The Polydor Singles Collection 1958/1972
Released: 2000
Format: CD, Box Set
Catalog #: 549 054-2
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Bereits in den fünfziger Jahren war Bert Kaempfert für das Haus Polydor als Arrangeur und Produzent tätig. In dieser Zeit begann Bert Kaempfert auch zu komponieren: zunächst unter dem Pseudonym Marc Bones, später dann unter seinem eigenen Namen.

Auf dieser Doppel-CD sind erstmals alle in Deutschland unter dem Polydor-Etikett erschienenen Singles zusammengestellt und wiederveröffentlicht. Darunter befinden sich auch Kostbarkeiten, die es bislang noch nicht auf CD gab, wie z. B. die beiden Chor-fassungen von Only A Fool (Would Lose You) und Lonely Is The Name.

Für den Sammler und Liebhaber dieser Orchestermusik geht hiermit ein lang gehegter Wunsch in Erfüllung: Die frühen Aufnahmen, die mit kleinerer Besetzung teilweise noch in der Hamburger Musikhalle entstanden, lassen viele Erinnerungen wach werden. Titel wie der Mitternachts-Blues, Ducky, Patricia, Catalania, Explorer oder Cerveza waren die damaligen Ohrwürmer, die hier in den ursprünglichen Single-Fassungen erscheinen und nicht in den teilweise später nachproduzierten Album-Versionen. Mit Cha! Bull! und dem Shepherd’s Cha-Cha erleben auch zwei Titel aus der später in England veröffentlichten LP-Kopplung „Ssh! It’s … Bert Kaempfert” ihre Wiederveröffentlichung.

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

CD1 (1958 – 1962):

CD2 (1963 – 1972):