Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Safari Swings Again

Safari Swings Again
Released: 1977
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 443-2
Order Now: www.amazon.de

This album was produced in October 1976, and again it was recorded in the Polydor Studio in Hamburg by sound engineer Peter Klemt.

As the title suggests, Bert Kaempfert consciously wanted this to be a follow-up to his legendary LP A SWINGIN’ SAFARI, but with a larger orchestra than for the first production. Further sound attractions are provided in lengthy solos by Ack van Rooyen (trumpet) and Jiggs Whigham (trombone).

The nine original compositions by Bert Kaempfert and Herbert Rehbein are not only complemented by Tom Hark with its stimulating improvisatory interplay of trumpet and trombone, but also Pata Pata, a top-ten hit for the South African-born singer Miriam Makeba, and the traditional Sugar Bush, taken from the South African collection ‘Songs from the Veld’ and performed by great artists such as Doris Day and Frankie Laine.

And last but not least, we have Henry Mancini’s Baby Elephant Walk from the film ‘Hatari!’ starring John Wayne, which, set against the rhythm of Bert Kaempfert’s ‘Afrikaan Sound’, takes on a whole new interesting dimension.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Safari Swings Again

Safari Swings Again
Released: 1977
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 443-2
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Dieses Album entstand im Oktober 1976 und wurde ebenfalls im Hamburger Polydor-Studio mit Toningenieur Peter Klemt aufgenommen.

Wie schon aus dem Titel hervorgeht, hat Bert Kaempfert mit dieser Produktion ganz bewußt an seine legendäre LP A SWINGIN’ SAFARI angeknüpft, allerdings im Vergleich zu der ersten Produktion mit einer größeren Orchesterbesetzung. Für zusätzliche Klangreize sorgen ausgiebige Soli von Ack van Rooyen (Trompete) und Jiggs Whigham (Posaune).

Zu den neun Originalkompositionen von Bert Kaempfert und Herbert Rehbein gesellen sich nicht nur das durch das improvisatorische Wechselspiel von Trompete und Posaune reizvolle Tom Hark und Pata Pata, ein Top-Ten-Hit für die aus Südafrika stammende Sängerin Miriam Makeba, sondern auch das Traditional Sugar Bush, das sich in der südafrikanischen Liedsammlung „Songs from the Veld” findet und schon von Showbusiness-Größen wie Doris Day oder Frankie Laine interpretiert wurde.

Last, but not least ist auch Henry Mancinis Baby Elephant Walk aus dem John-Wayne-Film „Hatari!” zu hören, das im Gewand von Bert Kaempferts „Afrikaan-Sound” hier eine interessante neue Dimension erhält.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: