Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Bert Kaempfert in London

Bert Kaempfert in London
Released: 2003
Format: CD, Box Set
Catalog #: 981 157-0
Order Now: www.amazon.de

On April 22, 1974, Bert Kaempfert went on stage with his great Orchestra for the first time in the venerable Royal Albert Hall in London, and gave two live concerts on the same day. Following a spectacular introduction, he greeted the audience with a simple “Good evening”. With his reserved, charming manner and his slightly faltering commentaries in English with American accent he won the hearts of the audience, who nevertheless immediately saw that Bert Kaempfert was a musician through and through. After just a few bars, he managed to fill the normally cool English audience with enthusiasm in both performances. The 7,000 people at each concert were enraptured, even in the boxes occupied by the aristocracy and prominent figures, where the ladies and gentleman normally only used to clap discreetly, there was lively applause that evening. Both performances were an unprecedented success.

Shortly afterwards, Polydor released the LP LIVE IN LONDON, including 12 songs from the concert. Due to other productions with Bert Kaempfert and his Orchestra in the years that followed, the second LP LIVE IN LONDON VOL. 2 that was planned at the time was subsequently forgotten. The complete recording of the concert lay unedited in the archive of tapes. On the occasion of Bert Kaempfert’s eightieth birthday, this legendary concert will be released in its entire length on this double CD by Polydor.

The sound engineer Peter Klemt went back to the sound mixer for the extensive editing of the tapes, since no-one knows the typical Kaempfert sound as well as the man who, together with Kaempfert himself, mixed down all his productions for over twenty years and was also there at the time in London in 1974.

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

CD 1:

CD 2:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Bert Kaempfert In London

Bert Kaempfert In London
Released: 2003
Format: CD, Box Set
Catalog #: 981 157-0
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Am 22. April 1974 erschien Bert Kaempfert mit seinem großen Orchester dann das erste Mal in der ehrwürdigen Royal Albert Hall in London auf der Bühne und gab an diesem Tag gleich zwei Live-Konzerte. Nach einer großartigen Ankündigung begrüßt er sein Publikum mit einem schlichten „Good evening”. Mit seiner zurückhaltenden, charmanten Art und seiner ein wenig unbeholfenen Moderation in einem Englisch mit amerikanischem Akzent eroberte er die Herzen des Publikums, das aber auch sofort merkte, dass Bert Kaempfert ein Vollblutmusiker war. Schon nach den ersten Takten begeisterte er das sonst eher kühle englische Publikum in beiden Vorstellungen. Die je 7000 Besucher waren hingerissen, selbst in den Logen des Adels und der Prominenz, wo die Herrschaften an anderen Abenden sonst nur dezent zu applaudieren pflegen, wurde temperamentvoll geklatscht. Die beiden Vorstellungen waren ein wahrer Triumph.

1975 veröffentlichte die Polydor die LP LIVE IN LONDON, die 12 Titel des Konzerts enthielt. Wegen anderer Produktionen mit Bert Kaempfert und seinem Orchester in den Folgejahren geriet das damals geplante zweite Album LIVE IN LONDON VOL. 2 in Vergessenheit. Der komplette Mitschnitt des Konzerts lag unbearbeitet im Bandarchiv. Anlässlich des achtzigsten Geburtstags von Bert Kaempfert wird nun dieses legendäre Konzert in gesamter Länge auf der vorliegenden Doppel-CD von der Polydor herausgebracht.

Für die umfangreiche Bearbeitung der Bänder setzte sich der Toningenieur Peter Klemt noch einmal ans Mischpult, denn keiner kennt den typischen Kaempfert-Sound so gut wie er, der über zwanzig Jahre gemeinsam mit Kaempfert alle Produktionen abgemischt hat und auch 1974 in London dabei war.

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

CD 1:

CD 2: