Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Yesterday And Today

Yesterday And Today
Released: 1973
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 416-7
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Six nostalgic hits from the Fifties and six new compositions with his own unique sound – such are the ingredients of Bert Kaempfert’s album YESTERDAY AND TODAY, recorded in November 1972 and released the following year. It was probably for this reason that MCA released this compilation in the USA under the title FABULOUS FIFTIES… AND NEW DELIGHTS.

Do you remember Blueberry Hill? It was a Top Ten hit for Glenn Miller and his singer Ray Eberle in the Forties; it was a million seller for Fats Domino and his honky-tonk piano in 1956, and Louis Armstrong – who had recorded the number in 1949 – also profited from its success. And here it is again – given a decisively modern touch by Bert Kaempfert.

Elvis Presley’s Love Me Tender was an overwhelming success: taken from the film of the same name (Presley’s very first film), this melody goes back to a song from the American Civil War, Aura Lee, written by George R. Poulton. Bert Kaempfert pays homage here to the “King of Rock ‘n’ Roll” with his entirely personal interpretation of this early rock ballad.

The guitarist Duane Eddy had a special “trade mark” in the 1950s: a twangy guitar sound with which he introduced his rock numbers – one of these was his highly successful Rebel Rouser, performed here à la Kaempfert, which happily connects 1958 with 1972. Bert Kaempfert, of course, also has his very own “trade mark” – a remarkable versatility which allows him to take a rhythm and blues number such as Night Train (a hit for James Brown in 1962) and lend it a truly modern touch without losing anything of the original thrilling beat.

If your memory functions better in the world of pop rather than rock, then two timeless melodies which have been treated with the Bert Kaempfert Sound will offer special pleasure: Who’s Sorry Now, a highly popular song in the vaudeville theatres of the 1920s, became one of Connie Francis’s greatest hits in 1958 in a modern version, and Everybody Loves Somebody. The latter song brought Frank Sinatra only moderate success at the end of the Forties but sold millions in 1964 when sung by Dean Martin, who used it as his theme melody in his television shows and made it a true classic.

But maybe you prefer works by the composing team Bert Kaempfert/Herbert Rehbein such as You Turned My World Around, which Frank Sinatra included in his repertoire, or Children Of Peace, whose basic lyrical mood is spiced with dynamic, powerful sections, or again I Remember Loving You which is based on the Cancan from Jacques Offenbach’s opera “Orpheus In The Underworld”.

No matter what your taste is, YESTERDAY AND TODAY, a collection of truly classic instrumental works, offers something for everyone.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Yesterday And Today

Yesterday And Today
Released: 1973
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 416-7
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Sechs nostalgische Hits aus den fünfziger Jahren und sechs neue Kompositionen in seinem unnachahmlichen Sound – das hat Bert Kaempfert auf seinem im November 1972 entstandenen und 1973 veröffentlichten Album YESTERDAY AND TODAY zu bieten. Das ist wohl auch der Grund, weshalb diese Produktion seinerzeit in den USA bei MCA unter dem Titel FABULOUS FIFTIES… AND NEW DELIGHTS erschien.

Erinnern Sie sich noch an Blueberry Hill? Damit hatten schon Glenn Miller und sein Sänger Ray Eberle in den vierziger Jahren einen Top-Ten-Hit; für Fats Domino und sein Honky-Tonk-Klavier wurde die Nummer 1956 ein Millionenerfolg, von dem auch Louis Armstrong profitierte, der das Stück bereits 1949 aufgenommen hatte. Hier erklingt es erneut – von Bert Kaempfert entschieden modernisiert.

Ebenfalls 1956 landete Elvis Presley einen Millionenhit mit Love Me Tender, das er in „Pulverdampf und heiße Lieder” (seinem ersten Spielfilm) sang und dessen Melodie zurückgeht auf den alten amerikanischen Bürgerkriegssong „Aura Lee” von George R. Poulton. Bert Kaempfert verbeugt sich mit einer ganz persönlichen Interpretation dieser frühen Rockballade vor dem „König des Rock’n’Roll”.

Der Gitarrist Duane Eddy hatte in den fünfziger Jahren ein Markenzeichen: Einen metallisch-harten Gitarrensound, mit dem er seine rockigen Nummern einleitete – so auch seinen Bestseller Rebel Rouser, der hier ganz à la Kaempfert vorgetragen wird und eine glückliche Verbindung von 1958 und 1972 darstellt. Bert Kaempfert hat natürlich sein eigenes Markenzeichen – eine bemerkenswerte Vielseitigkeit, die es ihm ermöglicht, eine Rhythm-&-Blues-Nummer wie Night Train – 1962 ein Hit für James Brown – zu nehmen und ihr einen stark zeitgenössischen Touch zu verleihen, ohne den mitreißenden Beat der Vorlage aufzugeben.

Wenn Ihre Erinnerungen mehr in Richtung Pop als Rock gehen, werden Ihnen zwei zeitlose Melodien im Gewand des Bert-Kaempfert-Sounds besonderes Vergnügen bereiten: Who’s Sorry Now, ein in den Vaudeville-Theatern der Zwanziger populär gewordener Song, der 1958 in modernisierter Fassung einer der ganz großen Erfolge von Connie Francis war, und Everybody Loves Somebody, Ende der vierziger Jahre ein nur mäßiger Erfolg für Frank Sinatra, aber 1964 ein Millionenhit für Dean Martin, der diesen Song zur Erkennungsmelodie seiner Fernsehshows und zu einem Standard machte.

Vielleicht bevorzugen Sie aber auch die Kompositionen des Teams Bert Kaempfert / Herbert Rehbein, z. B. You Turned My World Around, das zum Repertoire von Frank Sinatra gehört, Children Of Peace, dessen lyrische Grundstimmung sich mit dynamisch-kraftvollen Passagen abwechselt, oder I Remember Loving You, das auf dem Cancan aus „Orpheus in der Unterwelt” von Jacques Offenbach basiert.

Wie auch immer, YESTERDAY AND TODAY, eine Kollektion von geradezu klassischen Instrumentals, hat für jeden Geschmack etwas zu bieten.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: