Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Strangers In The Night

Strangers In The Night
Released: 1966
Re-Released: 2009
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 272 248-5
Order Now: www.amazon.de

In 1965, Bert Kaempfert was commissioned by the American film company Universal Pictures to compose the music for “A Man Could Get Killed” – a comedy film about a gang of crooks. Set in Portugal’s capital Lisbon, the film’s main ingredients were a diamond robbery, secret agents and a romance; two of the leading roles were taken by Melina Mercouri and James Garner.

The present disc, recorded in 1966, includes the two main themes from the film: But Not Today, heard during the Main Title, and, of course, Strangers In The Night, the love theme, which was entitled Beddy-Bye in the film score. But Not Today is proof enough that Bert Kaempfert was not only capable of writing a lovely film melody but that he also knew how to capture a Spanish-Portuguese touch, even adding a dash of Greece as a tribute to the unforgotten Melina Mercouri.

In those days Bert Kaempfert could scarcely have foreseen that his love theme Strangers In The Night would become an international Super-hit within an amazingly short time and that it would, to this day, take its place among those songs which have received the most awards.
Bert Kaempfert’s publisher, Hal Fein, instinctively knew the true value of this song which he offered to Frank Sinatra, who immediately recorded it and thus made his great comeback. After only a few weeks, Frankieboy’s vocal and Bert Kaempfert’s orchestral versions took the charts by the storm and even ousted the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and the Beach Boys from their places at the top of the international hit parades.

In Germany alone Fremde in der Nacht was available contemporaneously in four different vocal versions, and in 1967 this composition was named the “Hit of the Year” by the German copyright society GEMA.

Over the years Bert Kaempfert not only received numerous gold discs for Strangers In The Night but was showered with other prizes, such as the “Golden Globe”. As recently as 1990 the evergreen was honored with a fourth “BMI Award”. The press commented: “Bert Kaempfert’s songs are still record-breakers! The American copyright society BMI has registered four million radio performances of Strangers In The Night, which constitutes non-stop broadcasting for 22.8 years!”

But it is not only these two film melodies that are worth a mention. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love, Mexican Shuffle and Tijuana Taxi were also enormously successful; Bert Kaempfert’s Milica, also known as Sweet Maria, was also a huge hit, particularly in the USA; and finally his Two Can Live On Love Alone was chosen by the Anita Kerr Singers for their album entitled BERT KAEMPFERT TURNS US ON.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Strangers In The Night

Strangers In The Night
Released: 1966
Re-Released: 2009
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 272 248-5
Order Now: www.amazon.de

1965 hatte Bert Kaempfert von der amerikanischen Filmgesellschaft Universal Pictures den Auftrag erhalten, die Musik für den Film „A Man Could Get Killed” („Willkommen Mr. B…”) zu schreiben, eine Gaunerkomödie, deren Geschichte in der portugiesischen Hauptstadt Lissabon spielt und von Diamantenraub, Geheimagenten und Liebesromanzen handelt. Als Hauptdarsteller waren u.a. Melina Mercouri und James Garner verpflichtet worden.

Die vorliegende Produktion aus dem Jahr 1966 enthält u.a. die beiden Hauptthemen aus dem Film: But Not Today, im Film auch während des Main Title zu hören, und eben Strangers In The Night, das Liebesthema, das in der Filmmusik-Partitur noch die Bezeichnung Beddy-Bye trägt. Hört man But Not Today, weiß man, Bert Kaempfert war es gelungen, nicht nur eine schöne Filmmelodie zu schreiben. In seinem Arrangement berücksichtigte er den spanisch-portugiesischen Touch und mischte noch einen „kräftigen Schuss Griechenland” für die unvergessene Melina Mercouri hinzu.

Bert Kaempfert ahnte damals noch nicht, dass er mit der Komposition des Liebesthemas sein Strangers In The Night geschaffen hatte, die Melodie, die innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum internationalen Super-Hit werden sollte und bis heute einer der höchstdekorierten Songs in der Unterhaltungsmusik ist.
Bert Kaempferts Verleger, Hal Fein, spürte das Besondere dieses Songs und bot ihn Frank Sinatra an. Frankieboy nahm ihn kurzentschlossen auf und konnte damit sein großes Comeback feiern. Nur wenige Wochen nach den Veröffentlichungen verdrängten die Versionen von Frank Sinatra und Bert Kaempfert mit seinem Orchester über Monate sowohl die Beatles als auch die Rolling Stones und die Beach Boys von den ersten Plätzen der internationalen Hitparaden.

Allein in Deutschland gab es gleichzeitig vier Vokalfassungen unter dem Titel Fremde in der Nacht, und die GEMA ermittelte diese Komposition als Schlager des Jahres 1967.

Für Strangers In The Night erhielt Bert Kaempfert im Laufe der Jahre viele goldene Schallplatten und andere Auszeichnungen, wie z.B. den „Golden Globe”. Noch 1990 wurde für diesen Evergreen der vierte „BMI-Award” verliehen. Auszugsweise heißt es dazu in einer der Pressemeldungen: „Bert Kaempferts Lieder brechen immer noch Rekorde! Die amerikanische Urheberrechtsgesellschaft BMI registrierte für sein Strangers In The Night vier Millionen Rundfunkaufführungen und errechnete eine ununterbrochene Sendezeit von 22,8 Jahren.”

Aber nicht nur die beiden Filmmelodien sind erwähnenswert: So waren I Can’t Give You Anything But Love, Mexican Shuffle und Tijuana Taxi große Erfolgsnummern, aus Bert Kaempferts Milica wurde vor allem in den USA unter dem Titel Sweet Maria ein Hit, und schließlich wählten die Anita Kerr Singers sein Two Can Live On Love Alone für ihr Album BERT KAEMPFERT TURNS US ON aus.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: