Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

The World We Knew

The World We Knew
Released: 1967
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-6
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Recorded in March 1967, the album THE WORLD WE KNEW could well be regarded as the central part of a trilogy of LP productions, the others being STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT (1966) and MY WAY OF LIFE (1968). All three title numbers have a common factor: they were sung by no less than Frank Sinatra. Although the melancholy The World We Knew (Over And Over) did not achieve the legendary success of Strangers In The Night, Sinatra’s version entered the Top Ten on the American “easy listening” charts and was a Number 1 hit for several weeks in Argentina.

Five further compositions from the original album were written by Bert Kaempfert and Herbert Rehbein: the gently swinging I Can´t Help Remembering You, with which Dean Martin enjoyed worldwide success; Lonesome, with its solemnly majestic melody; Stay With The Happy People, which was influenced by gospel songs and spirituals; Vat 96’s simple riff theme, which is enhanced by the harsh accents of the brass and muted trumpets; and finally Talk, whose snappy theme is presented by two trumpets and which is treated stereophonically, one might say, towards the end in that it passes from one section of the winds to the next.

The remaining compositions are successful numbers of various origins: Rain was written as early as 1927 and has taken its place among the evergreens among other things thanks to recordings by the orchestras led by Sam Lanin and Arnold Frank for example. Lover was sung by Jeanette MacDonald in an imaginative musical from the early days of the “talkies”; during the Forties this number gained renewed popularity due to a recording by the trick guitarist Les Paul, while in 1952 it was a million seller for Peggy Lee. Originally one of the most popular waltzes by the Broadway composer Richard Rodgers, Lover takes on a completely new character in this almost aggressively swinging version by Bert Kaempfert.

Interpreted by varied artists such as Tex Ritter, Bing Crosby, Gene Autry and Ray Charles, the ever popular country and western evergreen You Are My Sunshine, written in 1940, was composed by Jimmy Davis, a professor of history and social studies who devoted himself to music in his spare time. In 1944 he became Governor of the State of Louisiana, having used his song in his election campaign – obviously with success.

The two remaining compositions are connected with one of the most famous names of the swing era – Glenn Miller. The Serenade In Blue, which is appropriately given a “bluesy” trumpet introduction by Bert Kaempfert, was premiered in 1942 in the film “Orchestra Wives” where it was performed by Glenn Miller’s orchestra and his singer Ray Eberle. Moonlight Serenade, which Miller composed in 1939, is probably the most popular signature tune ever to have been written for an orchestra in the big band era. During his studies with the “music mathematician” Joseph Schillinger, Miller wrote the melody “just for practice”; the serenade was one of his very first recorded hits and has lost nothing of its fascination in Bert Kaempfert’s version, despite its totally different sound with the leading piano.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

The World We Knew

The World We Knew
Released: 1967
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-6
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Das Album THE WORLD WE KNEW, aufgenommen im März 1967, bildet sozusagen den mittleren Teil einer Trilogie von LP-Produktionen – die beiden anderen sind STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT (1966) und MY WAY OF LIFE (1968) –, deren Titelnummern eines gemeinsam haben: Sie wurden von keinem Geringeren als Frank Sinatra gesungen.

Zwar konnte das melancholisch-schwerblütige The World We Knew (Over And Over) nicht an den legendären Erfolg von Strangers In The Night anknüpfen, schaffte in der Interpretation Sinatras aber doch den Sprung in die Top Ten der amerikanischen Easy-Listening-Charts und war in Argentinien sogar für mehrere Wochen die Nr. 1 der Hitparaden.

Aus dem Originalalbum stammen fünf weitere Kompositionen von Bert Kaempfert und Herbert Rehbein: Das sanft swingende I Can´t Help Remembering You, das weltweit auch in der Interpretation von Dean Martin große Erfolge feierte. Lonesome hat eine getragen-majestätische Melodie. Stay With The Happy People greift Einflüsse von Gospel bzw. Spiritual auf. Das einfache Riff-Thema von Vat 96 steigert sich mit harten Akzenten der Blechbläser und Dämpfer-Effekten der Trompeten. Und schließlich das flotte, von zwei Trompeten vorgetragene Thema von Talk, das in seiner Schlussphrase „stereophon” durch verschiedene Bläsersektionen wechselt.

Die übrigen Kompositionen setzen sich aus Erfolgsnummern unterschiedlicher Herkunft zusammen: Rain entstand bereits 1927 und ist u. a. durch Aufnahmen mit den Orchestern von Sam Lanin und Arnold Frank ins Standardrepertoire eingegangen. Lover stammt aus „Love Me Tonight”, einem phantasievollen Musical der frühen Tonfilmzeit, wo es von Jeanette MacDonald gesungen wurde; in den vierziger Jahren erlangte dieser Titel neue Beliebtheit durch eine Einspielung des Trickgitarristen Les Paul, und 1952 entwickelte er sich zu einem Millionen-Seller für Peggy Lee. Ursprünglich einer der beliebtesten Walzer des Broadway-Komponisten Richard Rodgers, erhält Lover in der schon beinahe aggressiv swingenden Version Bert Kaempferts einen völlig neuen Charakter.

Der unverwüstliche Country-&-Western-Standard You Are My Sunshine – er wurde von so unterschiedlichen Künstlern wie Tex Ritter, Bing Crosby, Gene Autry und Ray Charles gesungen – stammt aus der Feder von Jimmy Davis, der eigentlich Professor für Geschichte und Sozialwissenschaften war und sich der Musik nur nebenbei widmete. 1944 wurde er Gouverneur von Louisiana und setzte seinen 1940 geschriebenen Song – offensichtlich mit Erfolg – als Wahlkampflied ein.

Die beiden noch verbleibenden Kompositionen sind mit einem der berühmtesten Namen der Swing-Ära verbunden – Glenn Miller. Die Serenade In Blue, die in Bert Kaempferts Fassung dem Titel entsprechend eine „bluesige” Trompeteneinleitung hat, erlebte ihre Premiere 1942 in dem Film „Orchestra Wives”, wo sie von Millers Orchester und seinem Sänger Ray Eberle vorgestellt wurde. Mit der Moonlight Serenade hatte Glenn Miller schon 1939 ein Stück komponiert, das zur wohl populärsten Erkennungsmelodie eines Orchesters der Big-Band-Ära werden sollte. Von Miller während seiner Studien bei dem „Musikmathematiker” Joseph Schillinger „zur Übung” geschrieben, wurde diese Serenade einer seiner ersten Plattenhits und büßt auch in Bert Kaempferts klanglich völlig anderem Sound mit führendem Klavier nichts von ihrer Faszination ein.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: