Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

The Kaempfert Touch

The Kaempfert Touch
Released: 1970
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 420-3
Order Now: www.amazon.de

The “Kaempfert Touch” – this term stands for that “certain something” with which Bert Kaempfert laced his music: attractive melodies, elaborate arrangements combining various instruments to produce a soft and gentle sound, the chorus treated in an orchestral manner, mellow trumpets or other solo instruments, a unique rhythm – and all that conducted by a man who knows how to get his musicians to play in a very special and distinctive manner.

This special “touch” is not only found in compositions by the Kaempfert/Rehbein team, but is also used to enhance works by other composers, as is admirably demonstrated by the album THE KAEMPFERT TOUCH, recorded in October 1969 in Hamburg and released at the beginning of 1970. Alongside original Kaempfert/Rehbein numbers such as the dramatic We Can Make It, Girl (which was performed by Malcolm Roberts among others), the truly swinging Headin’ Home, the romantic waltz One Day With You or the lively bossa nova All For You, there is a wealth of hits and mega-hits from 1969: Something, which Frank Sinatra regarded as “the greatest love song of the past 50 years”, is taken from the Beatles album “Abbey Road” (then brand new), for which the Fab Four received a gold disc; Shirley Bassey’s version also landed in the hit parades at the time. Today this song is available in over 150 cover versions – and Bert Kaempfert’s is one of them.

Didn’t We was written by Jim Webb, the composer of pop classics such as Up, Up And Away and By The Time I Get To Phoenix. It was a further success for the actor Richard Harris, who had discovered his musical talents in the role of King Arthur in the film version of the musical “Camelot”; Webb’s melodramatic MacArthur Park had been a previous hit for the actor.

America’s most successful female group of all time, the Supremes, shot yet again to the top of the charts with Someday We’ll Be Together; Diana Ross, the lead singer, took her leave of the soul trio with this song to start an extremely successful solo career.

Alongside such illustrious pop songs, illustrious film melodies must take their rightful place, and so two such numbers – rivals for an Oscar in 1969 – can also be heard here. While Rod McKuen’s Jean from the film “The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie” had to be satisfied with the honor of being nominated, Burt Bacharach’s Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head from “Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid”, filmed with Paul Newman and Robert Redford and a success all the world over, was awarded the coveted trophy. B. J. Thomas’s vocal version stormed to the top of the charts and was one of the greatest successes of the year, bringing him a gold disc. The number has since firmly established itself as one of the best known evergreens.

Bert Kaempfert’s sound engineer Peter Klemt was awarded a diploma by the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences for the nomination of the album THE KAEMPFERT TOUCH as “Best Engineered Recording (Non-Classical)”, a further testimony to the internationally recognized high quality of Kaempfert recordings.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

The Kaempfert Touch

The Kaempfert Touch
Released: 1970
Re-Released: 2011
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 276 420-3
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Der „Kaempfert-Touch” – dieser Begriff steht synonym für das gewisse Etwas, das Bert Kaempfert in seine Musik einfließen lässt: Attraktive Melodien, ausgefeilte Arrangements mit soften Instrumentenkombinationen, einen eher orchestral eingesetzten Chor, eine dezent geblasene Trompete oder ein anderes Soloinstrument, eine unnachahmliche Rhythmusgruppe, und das alles dirigiert von einem Mann, der seine Musiker dazu bringt, auf eine ganz spezielle und typische Weise zu spielen.

Dieser besondere Touch kommt natürlich nicht nur den Kompositionen des Autorenteams Kaempfert / Rehbein zugute, sondern veredelt auch die Werke anderer Komponisten, wie das im Oktober 1969 in Hamburg entstandene und Anfang 1970 veröffentlichte Album THE KAEMPFERT TOUCH einmal mehr beweist: Zu Kaempfert-Rehbein-Originalen wie dem dramatischen – u. a. von Malcolm Roberts gesungenen – We Can Make It, Girl, dem markant swingenden Headin’ Home, dem romantischen Walzer One Day With You oder dem flotten Bossa Nova All For You gesellt sich eine ganze Reihe von Hits und Superhits aus dem Jahr 1969: Something, nach Meinung von Frank Sinatra „das beste Liebeslied der vergangenen fünfzig Jahre”, ist dem seinerzeit brandneuen Beatles-Album „Abbey Road” entnommen und brachte den „Fab Four” eine Goldene Schallplatte ein; auch Shirley Bassey landete mit ihrer Interpretation damals in den Hitparaden. Heute liegt der Song in über 150 Cover-Versionen vor – Bert Kaempferts ist eine davon.

Didn’t We stammt aus der Feder von Jim Webb, auf dessen Konto Pop-Klassiker wie Up, Up And Away und By The Time I Get To Phoenix gehen, und war ein weiterer Erfolg für den Schauspieler Richard Harris, der in der Rolle des Königs Arthur bei der Verfilmung des Musicals „Camelot” seine gesanglichen Qualitäten entdeckt hatte und schon mit Webbs melodramatischem MacArthur Park einen Hit verbuchen konnte.

Mit Someday We’ll Be Together konnten sich die Supremes, Amerikas erfolgreichste weibliche Gesangsgruppe aller Zeiten, wie schon so oft vorher ein weiteres Mal an die Spitze der Hitparaden katapultieren; Diana Ross, die Leadsängerin der Gruppe, verabschiedete sich mit diesem Song aus dem Soultrio, um eine überaus produktive Solokarriere zu starten.

Neben so illustren Popsongs dürfen natürlich ebenso illustre Filmmelodien nicht fehlen, und so sind hier gleich zwei Titel zu hören, die 1969 um den Oscar für den besten Filmsong konkurrierten. Während sich Rod McKuens Jean aus dem Film „Die besten Jahre der Miß Jean Brodie” allerdings mit der ehrenvollen Nominierung begnügen musste, konnte Burt Bacharachs Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head aus dem Welterfolg „Zwei Banditen” mit Paul Newman und Robert Redford die begehrte Trophäe erringen. Die mit einer Goldenen Schallplatte ausgezeichnete Vokalversion von B. J. Thomas wurde einer der größten Verkaufserfolge des Jahres und machte den Song, der die Hitparaden im Sturm eroberte, zu einem international bekannten Standard.

Für das Album THE KAEMPFERT TOUCH erhielt übrigens Bert Kaempferts Toningenieur Peter Klemt 1971 eine Urkunde der „National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences” für die Nominierung in der Kategorie „Best Engineered Recording (Non-Classical)”, ein weiterer Beweis für die international angesehene Aufnahmequalität der Kaempfert-Alben.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: