Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Strangers In The Night – The Bert Kaempfert Story

Strangers In The Night – The Bert Kaempfert Story
Released: 2004
Format: CD, DVD
Catalog #: 982 430-4
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Long before the Liverpool sound even existed, it was Bert Kaempfert who, with My Bonnie, made the Beatles into recording stars – as early as 1960 preparing the ground for Paul McCartney, John Lennon & Co’s phenomenal international career: they partook of his knowledge, his skills and that creativity which he so undogmatically imparted.

The list of the solo artists who scored success after international success with Kaempfert’s distinctive compositions reads like a Who’s Who of light music: Frank Sinatra, Al Martino and Dean Martin. Ella Fitzgerald and Shirley Bassey. Sarah Vaughan and Peggy Lee. Nat “King” Cole, Herb Alpert and Johnny Mathis. Brenda Lee, Caterina Valente, Andy Williams and Nancy Wilson – to name but a few.

Quite simply, they all felt at ease with the melodies this Hamburg composer and arranger created, melodies as light and unforced as their construction was inspired. Whether intentionally or not, he clearly knew how to reproduce in his music the nature of the person he was: pleasant, unassuming and restrained – yet at the same time infectious, expressive and brimming with joie de vivre. In short, melodies that do you good.

The biography of the man whose ideas occupy a firm place in the annals of music history began more than eighty years ago in a working-class district of Hamburg.

In Marc Boettcher’s documentary we hear from Bert Kaempfert’s friends and companions, Freddy Quinn, Hildegard Knef and James Last, among others, as well as from members of the Kaempfert family.

DVD / MENUE:

  • 1923 – 1945 Musikalische Anfänge / Musical Beginnings
  • 1945 – 1959 Die Polydor-Jahre / The Polydor Years
  • 1959 – 1963 Wonderland By Night
  • 1963 – 1965 Der Kaempfert Sound / The Kaempfert Sound
  • 1965 – 1968 Strangers In The Night
  • 1968 – 1974 Krisenzeiten und Comeback / Crises and Comeback
  • 1974 – 1980 Der Abschied / Farewell

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Strangers In The Night – The Bert Kaempfert Story

Strangers In The Night – The Bert Kaempfert Story
Released: 2004
Format: CD, DVD
Catalog #: 982 430-4
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Er machte die Beatles mit My Bonnie zu Platten-Stars, als es den Liverpool-Sound noch gar nicht gab; Bert Kaempfert bereitete schon 1960 den Boden für die phänomenale Weltkarriere von Paul McCartney, John Lennon & Co.: Sie folgten seinem Wissen und Können, seiner undogmatisch vermittelten Kreativität.

Die Liste der Solo-Künstler, die mit unverwechselbaren Kaempfert-Kompositionen internationale Erfolge feierten, liest sich wie ein ‚Who’s who‘ der Unterhaltungsmusik: Frank Sinatra, Al Martino, Dean Martin. Ella Fitzgerald und Shirley Bassey. Sarah Vaughan und Peggy Lee. Nat “King” Cole, Herb Alpert, Johnny Mathis. Brenda Lee, Caterina Valente, Andy Williams, Nancy Wilson und… und… und…

Sie alle fühlten sich ganz einfach wohl mit den ebenso unangestrengt-leichten wie genial konstruierten Melodien des Hamburgers. Er hat es – gezielt oder auch nicht – offenbar verstanden, sein Wesen in seine Arbeiten zu übertragen: sympathisch, bescheiden, zurückhaltend – und dabei gleichermaßen ansteckend, gefühlvoll und lebensfroh. Neudeutsch formuliert: Wellness nach Noten…

Die Geschichte des Mannes, dessen Ideen einen unverrückbaren Platz in den Annalen der Musik-Historie besetzen, begann vor über 80 Jahren in einem hanseatischen Arbeiterviertel.

Im Dokumentarfilm von Marc Boettcher kommen Bert Kaempferts Freunde und Weggefährten, wie Freddy Quinn, Hildegard Knef und James Last zu Wort, ebenso wie die Familie Bert Kaempferts.

DVD / MENUE:

  • 1923 – 1945 Musikalische Anfänge / Musical Beginnings
  • 1945 – 1959 Die Polydor-Jahre / The Polydor Years
  • 1959 – 1963 Wonderland By Night
  • 1963 – 1965 Der Kaempfert Sound / The Kaempfert Sound
  • 1965 – 1968 Strangers In The Night
  • 1968 – 1974 Krisenzeiten und Comeback / Crises and Comeback
  • 1974 – 1980 Der Abschied / Farewell

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: