Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

One Lonely Night

One Lonely Night
Released: 1969
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-3
Order Now: www.amazon.de

ONE LONELY NIGHT, recorded in Hamburg in October 1968 and released at that time in America under the title WARM AND WONDERFUL, is now being released for the very first time on compact disc. Melodies chosen with great care and frequently played in their day by American radio stations are presented here in an elegant, swinging “continental style” by Bert Kaempfert and his Orchestra. The soloists are Werner Gutterer on the trumpet and Herb Geller on the flute.

The six original compositions by Bert Kaempfert and Herbert Rehbein range from dreamy, tranquil numbers such as Only In Your Arms and Our Street Of Love to the swinging Petula and the snappy, Spanish-sounding Maltese Melody, a work which also inspired Herb Alpert And His Tijuana Brass to enter the recording studio and which brought him great success. The remaining titles are all old favorites and top hits in their day.

Frequently heard in films, I May Be Wrong was originally composed for the revue entitled “John Murray Anderson’s Almanac” of 1929 and constituted the only really great success of its writers, Henry Sullivan and Harry Ruskin.

Some Of These Days, composed as early as 1910 by Shelton Brooks, gave the career of American singer and actress Sophie Tucker a tremendous boost: the song became her signature tune and gave her autobiography its title.

One Morning In May was composed in 1934 by the great American songwriter Hoagy Carmichael; it was one of his personal favorites and became famous through recordings by Tommy Dorsey and Sarah Vaughan to mention a few.

Can’t Take My Eyes Off You, from 1967, fetched the singer Frankie Valli a gold disc and also proved a great success for The Lettermen and Nancy Wilson. A gold disc was also awarded to Herb Alpert And His Tijuana Brass for his recording of This Guy’s In Love With You, composed in 1968, one of the greatest hits ever to have been written during the Sixties by what is probably America’s most successful songwriting duo, of Burt Bacharach and Hal David; it was a top-ten hit for Bacharach’s favorite performing artist Dionne Warwick.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

One Lonely Night

One Lonely Night
Released: 1969
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-3
Order Now: www.amazon.de

ONE LONELY NIGHT, aufgenommen im Oktober 1968 in Hamburg, ist seinerzeit in Amerika unter dem Titel WARM AND WONDERFUL erschienen. Sorgsam ausgesuchte Melodien, damals sehr häufig von den amerikanischen Sendern eingesetzt, werden hier im eleganten und swingenden „Continental Style” von Bert Kaempfert und seinem Orchester präsentiert. Die Solisten sind Werner Gutterer (Trompete) und Herb Geller (Flöte).

Die sechs Originalkompositionen von Bert Kaempfert und Herbert Rehbein reichen von träumerisch-ruhigen Nummern wie Only In Your Arms und Our Street Of Love über das swingende Petula bis zur flotten, leicht spanisch angehauchten Maltese Melody, die auch Herb Alpert zu einer Aufnahme mit seiner Tijuana Brass inspirierte und ihm damit große Erfolge brachte.

Die übrigen Titel setzen sich aus älteren Standards und seinerzeit aktuellen Hits zusammen:
Das in vielen Filmen eingesetzte I May Be Wrong entstand ursprünglich für die Revue „John Murray Anderson’s Almanac” von 1929 und war der einzig wirklich große Erfolg für seine Schöpfer Henry Sullivan und Harry Ruskin.

Mit dem bereits 1910 komponierten Some Of These Days von Shelton Brooks konnte die amerikanische Sängerin und Schauspielerin Sophie Tucker ihrer Karriere einen tüchtigen Schub geben; der Song wurde ihre ganz persönliche Erkennungsmelodie und lieferte auch den Titel für ihre Autobiographie.

One Morning In May (1934) stammt aus der Feder des großen amerikanischen Songwriters Hoagy Carmichael und war eine seiner Lieblingskompositionen, die u. a. durch Aufnahmen mit Tommy Dorsey und Sarah Vaughan bekannt wurde.

Can’t Take My Eyes Off You aus dem Jahr 1967 brachte seinem Interpreten Frankie Valli eine goldene Schallplatte ein und war auch für The Lettermen und Nancy Wilson eine Erfolgsnummer. Ebenfalls mit Gold ausgezeichnet wurden Herb Alpert And His Tijuana Brass für das ein Jahr später entstandene This Guy’s In Love With You, einer der ganz großen Hits des in den sechziger Jahren wohl erfolgreichsten amerikanischen Songwriter-Teams Burt Bacharach und Hal David und auch eine Top-Ten-Nummer für Bacharachs Lieblingsinterpretin Dionne Warwick.

Album Songs: