Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Love That Bert Kaempfert

Love That Bert Kaempfert
Released: 1968
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-5
Order Now: www.amazon.de

This album from 1968 at that time was Number 1 on Decca’s “Top Selling Album List”. Bert Kaempfert sought out well known songs for his recordings and virtually made them his own. Himself a writer of numerous hits, he always treated the original works of his composer colleagues with great respect: his arrangements left the basic melody unchanged, while his special sound lent the work new lustre.

A good example of this is offered by Duke Ellington’s classical jazz composition Caravan from 1937 with its unforgettable melody. The exotic timbre, bass guitar played over a “fuzz box” and growl effects of the trumpet, all of which relate directly to Ellington’s “jungle style”, sent this Kaempfert single (Decca DL 32241) to the top of the US hit parade in 1968.

Another classic, The Sheik Of Araby, was inspired by the silent movie “The Sheik” (1921) filmed with Rudolph Valentino, the romantic idol of the Twenties. In his recording, Bert Kaempfert lends the oldie a modern tone coloring. Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston and Sammy Cahn combined their talents for the film musical “Thrill Of Romance” (1945) and came up with the song I Should Care, which was to become a best-seller for Frank Sinatra.

Bert Kaempfert breathes new life into this old favorite, just as he did with the solemn number Again from the film “Roadhouse” (1948), which took its place in the repertory of stars such as Vic Damone, Doris Day, Mel Tormé and Tommy Dorsey, and with Billy Hill’s The Glory Of Love from 1936, which achieved new popularity in 1967 thanks to the film “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner” with Spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn and Sidney Poitier.

Country music is also represented by one song which managed to get a foothold in the pop sector: Just As Much As Ever was a Top Forty hit for Bob Beckham.

Bert Kaempfert crowns this compilation with several original compositions: The First Waltz is a lively waltz which gives prominence to the brass; Manfred Moch’s trumpet is heard to great effect in the delightful My Love For You and also in Steppin’ Pretty – a work which is sure to get you swinging; Lonely Is The Name, for its part, was an enormous success for Sammy Davis, Jr.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Love That Bert Kaempfert

Love That Bert Kaempfert
Released: 1968
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 274 633-5
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Das vorliegende Album LOVE THAT BERT KAEMPFERT aus dem Jahr 1968 war damals die Nummer 1 der Decca- „Top Selling Album List”.

Bert Kaempfert suchte sich für seine Produktionen bekannte Songs aus und machte sie sozusagen zu seinen eigenen. Selbst Komponist vieler Hits, respektierte er aber immer die Originale seiner Komponistenkollegen: Ein Kaempfert-Arrangement lässt die zugrundeliegende Melodie stets unangetastet, verleiht ihr aber durch seinen speziellen Sound einen neuen Glanz.

Da ist zum Beispiel Duke Ellingtons Jazzklassiker Caravan aus dem Jahr 1937 mit seiner unvergeßlichen Melodie. Die exotischen Klangfarben, wie die über Verzerrer gespielte Baßgitarre und die Growl-Effekte der Trompete, die sich direkt aus Ellingtons „Jungle Style” herleiten, haben dazu beigetragen, das diese Kaempfert-Aufnahme als Single (Decca DL 32241) im Frühjahr 1968 hoch in die US-Hitparaden kam.

The Sheik Of Araby ist ein weiterer Klassiker, der durch den Stummfilm „The Sheik” (1921) mit Rudolph Valentino, dem romantischen Idol der zwanziger Jahre, inspiriert wurde. In seiner Aufnahme gibt Bert Kaempfert diesem Oldie ein modernes Klangbild. Für das Filmmusical „Thrill Of Romance” (1945) vereinten Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston und Sammy Cahn ihre Talente und steuerten den Song I Should Care bei, der später auch ein Bestseller für Frank Sinatra wurde.

Bert Kaempfert haucht diesem Standard neues Leben ein – wie auch dem getragenen Again aus dem Film „Roadhouse” (1948), das zum Repertoire von Stars wie Vic Damone, Doris Day, Mel Tormé oder Tommy Dorsey gehörte, und Billy Hills The Glory Of Love von 1936, das 1967 durch den Film „Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner” („Rat mal, wer zum Essen kommt”) mit Spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn und Sidney Poitier neue Popularität erlangte.

Sogar die Country-Musik ist mit einem Song vertreten, der den Sprung in den Popbereich geschafft hat: mit Just As Much As Ever, einem Top-Forty-Hit für Bob Beckham.

Bert Kaempfert krönt diese Zusammenstellung mit einigen Originalkompositionen: The First Waltz ist ein flotter Walzer, bei dem die Blechbläser im Vordergrund stehen; Manfred Mochs Trompete kommt in dem eingängigen My Love For You und dem zum Mitswingen anregenden Steppin’ Pretty zur Geltung. Lonely Is The Name wurde zu einem der großen Erfolgstitel von Sammy Davis Jr.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: