Discography

Published and available in Germany:

Post navigation

Love Letters

Love Letters
Released: 1965
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 273 659-1
Order Now: www.amazon.de

This album opens with a Bert Kaempfert composition that is one of the world’s greatest hits: Moon Over Naples. Recorded in September 1964, this piece was intended for the LP entitled THE MAGIC MUSIC OF FAR AWAY PLACES. It was not long before the excellent team of lyricists Charles Singleton and Eddie Snyder wrote romantic lyrics – and the melody became known as Spanish Eyes.

The recording by the American Al Martino sold million-fold and became “his” song, making the singer famous in all four corners of the globe. Spanish Eyes took its place among the evergreens. To date there are about 500 versions of the melody, published in highly diversified arrangements – from an accordion arrangement to a Russian balalaika ensemble complete with domra and bajan.

The other titles in LOVE LETTERS, recorded in February 1965, were released in the USA as a follow-up to THE MAGIC MUSIC OF FAR AWAY PLACES in the album THREE O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING and, of course, included this very single (from BLUE MIDNIGHT), which had just become a top-ten hit in the States.

This particular production is imbued with the typical “Bert Kaempfert Sound” of the mid-Sixties. The solo trumpet is played by Manfred Moch. A novel timbre is introduced by the use of a melodic guitar with muted strings, as in the Kaempfert composition The Moon Is Making Eyes and the old Lotar Olias hitDu, Du, Du which was a great hit for the Ames Brothers in the Fifties under the Americanized title You, You, You.

Three of the non-Kaempfert compositions come from the world of stage: Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella is a vaudeville song dating from 1928, A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square was heard in 1940 in a London theatre production called “New Faces” and was a great success for Glenn Miller and his singer Ray Eberle among others, and Rose Of Washington Square was sung by the famous singer and actress Fanny Brice in “Ziegfeld’s Midnight Frolic”.

The White Cliffs Of Dover, the closing number on the original album, was a song composed to arouse optimism during the Second World War and dedicated to suffering England; in its day it was another great success for Glenn Miller and Ray Eberle.

And of course an album entitled LOVE LETTERS must also include the number bearing the same name; here the track, which was produced in 1963, was taken from the album entitled DREAMING IN WONDERLAND.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists:

Discography

In Deutschland veröffentlicht und erhältlich:

Artikelnavigation

Love Letters

Love Letters
Released: 1965
Re-Released: 2010
Format: CD
Recorded at: Studio Rahlstedt, Hamburg
Catalog #: 273 659-1
Order Now: www.amazon.de

Dieses Album beginnt mit einer Bert-Kaempfert-Komposition, die zu den absoluten Welthits zählt: Moon Over Naples. Bereits im September 1964 war das Stück für die LP THE MAGIC MUSIC OF FAR AWAY PLACES entstanden.
Schon bald schrieb das bewährte Autorenteam Charles Singleton und Eddie Snyder einen romantischen Text. Und so wurde aus dieser Melodie Spanish Eyes. Die dann folgende Aufnahme des Amerikaners Al Martino, der damit „seinen” Song gefunden hatte, wurde zu einem Millionenerfolg und machte den Sänger weltberühmt. Aus Spanish Eyes wurde schließlich ein Evergreen. Heute liegt der Titel in schätzungsweise über 500 Versionen und den unterschiedlichsten Druckausgaben vor – von der Handharmonika bis zum russischen Balalaikaensemble mit Domra und Bajan.

Die weiteren Titel des Albums LOVE LETTERS wurden erst im Februar 1965 aufgenommen und erschienen in den USA als Nachfolger von THE MAGIC MUSIC OF FAR AWAY PLACES in dem Album THREE O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING mit eben diesem Single-Titel (aus BLUE MIDNIGHT), der zu dieser Zeit in den USA gerade ein Top-Ten-Hit geworden war.

Diese Produktion ist typisch für den Bert-Kaempfert-Sound um die Mitte der sechziger Jahre. Die Solotrompete spielt Manfred Moch. Eine neue Klangfarbe wird eingeführt durch eine mit abgedämpften Saiten gespielte Melodiegitarre, die in dem Kaempfert-Original The Moon Is Making Eyes und dem alten Lotar-Olias-Schlager Du, Du, Du – unter seinem amerikanischen Titel You, You, You in den fünfziger Jahren eine Erfolgsnummer für die Ames Brothers – zum Tragen kommt.

Drei der Fremdkompositionen entstammen der Welt des Theaters: Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella ist ein Vaudeville-Song aus dem Jahr 1928, A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square wurde 1940 in der Londoner Theaterproduktion „New Faces” vorgestellt und war u. a. auch für Glenn Miller und seinen Sänger Ray Eberle ein Erfolg, und Rose Of Washington Square erklang 1919 in „Ziegfeld’s Midnight Frolic”, wo es von der berühmten Sängerin und Schauspielerin Fanny Brice gesungen wurde.

The White Cliffs Of Dover, die Schlussnummer des Originalalbums, ist ein Optimismus verbreitender Song aus den Jahren des Zweiten Weltkriegs, der dem notleidenden England gewidmet ist, und war seinerzeit ein weiterer Erfolgstitel für Glenn Miller und Ray Eberle.

Natürlich muss eine CD, die LOVE LETTERS heißt, diesen Titel auch enthalten, der, 1963 produziert, dem Album DREAMING IN WONDERLAND entnommen wurde.

Album Songs:

Album Labels:

Album Artists: